Huckleberry Hideaway Reviews

Please enjoy these guest reviews and comments from our (former) advertiser and the Huckleberry Hideaway guest book.

Our guests have enhanced the energy of Light Heart Retreat by their presence and the energy of their personal transformations. Infinite gratitude to each and everyone of you and blessings for your path to have a deep blue sky overhead and soft pine needle bed under foot, Joanna

 

September 22, 2016 ~ Wonderful! x 3

We almost want to say bad things to try to keep a secret but the positive energy must be shared… Perfect mountain cottage that feels like a home. Has everything you need for a perfect get-away. Cozy fireplace with plenty of wood. Towels, full kitchen, soft sheets. Watch amazing sunsets from the balcony. Watch the sunrise on the trees while still in bed. Walking trails just outside the door and Acadia not too far away. Too many amazing features to describe! Joanna is the perfect host– shows you what you need then let’s you have your space. We will be back again. ~ Cinnamon B. & James, VA

 

June 13, 2016 ~ The Place is Magical

Words cannot describe the feeling you have when you arrive here. My girlfriend and I were searching for the escape from our New York City lifestyles and definitely found it here. We arrived in the pitch of midnight (long day driving) and fell asleep to the sound of frogs and nothing else. Upon awaking we were greeted with the sunrise over the quarry and the beauty of this retreat. It is a magical place. When Joanna gave us the orientation a bald eagle crossed our views. A delightful omen. Joanna is a wonderful person and somebody who you can easily get along with. Very accommodating, and respectful; to you, to her property, to mother nature. Our first day, we had planned to go to Acadia, but were so enamored with the property, that we just hung out there! She has 100 acres to explore, canoe, swim and meditate. It is so wonderful. Although it is on a dirt road, it is not totally removed from civilization. Ellsworth is only 20 minutes away and has your typical American chain stores. The Hannaford is very good (good meat and salad selections). Bar Harbor is about 45 minutes to an hour, but everywhere you drive in that section of the planet is a treat. This place inspired me so much and I hope one day to return. We stayed in the blackberry cottage which is ample for a couple. It is small, yes, but we never felt cramped. We also toured Huckleberry Hideaway which was absolutely breathtaking, full of light, and inspiration. The place is magical. Off the beaten path, very reasonable, and probably better than most places you will find on mount desert island (If you are into nature, roughing it a little, and looking for more out of life). ~  John C., NYC

July 10, 2015 ~ A Perfect Place to Refresh Body & Soul

Having done a great deal of research to find the perfect spot for a much-needed vacation, my husband and I found the Light Heart Retreat. We were looking for both active and passive hours in an allergy-free environment. We wanted to spending a lot of time outdoors biking in Acadia and swimming somewhere safe and clean (this is the summer of the shark attack, after all). The LHR website descriptions were so thorough and well-organized (not to mention creative and intriguing) that we knew we found our spot. We had spent hours biking the Carriage Roads in the past and knew how much fun that is (that is, after all, the reason for our focus on the Hancock area for a rental), but we had never spent time swimming in a quarry pond. The time we spent reading on the granite slabs and exploring the quarry pond with its stone formations and schools of fish was so amazing and relaxing that it rivaled our miles biking in Acadia. Access to the ponds, sauna, meditation hut, library, paths, hot tub, stone circle made us wonder if we ever really wanted to leave the grounds (expect to stock up Huckleberry’s well-equipped kitchen). Huckleberry Hideaway is a beautiful, clean, well-stocked, and immensely comfortable cabin. We felt as if we not only found a wonderful home away from home, but also a private, secluded, and peaceful estate to explore and enjoy. The land surrounding the houses and two quarries is so rugged, yet well-managed and maintained that we wished we had spent two weeks at the retreat instead of one. Joanna and her late-husband have created a true retreat for the body and soul. We both forgot all about our everyday responsibilities and were able to completely relax and replenish ourselves with absolute peace and quiet. There are also a million tiny details that Joanna maintains that make the cabins, grounds, and amenities special. Also, we found a wonderful, personalized guidebook waiting for us to not only explain the cabin and the grounds, but also the local amenities such as great restaurants in the immediate vicinity and short cuts to Bar Harbour and other less-touristy destinations. We have the fondest memories of our stay in Huckleberry Hideaway and plan to return for the two-week vacation that we wished we had planned during our first stay. We have already been recommending the Light Heart Retreat to friends and family, knowing that they would benefit as much as we have from the positive energy generated by the whole experience. ~ Amy M. & Kevin

September 28, 2014 ~ Incredible! Truly Where Heaven Touches Earth!

The location is exactly as advertised, great pictures and descriptions. This property is among the cleanest and most well stocked of any place we have stayed. We had wonderful hosts, they seemed to sense our every need from a nice supply of baked goods, and a well stocked kitchen to prior preparation of kindling and logs for both our indoor and outdoor fires. I recommend this property in the highest manner and will be posting everywhere I can about it. The caretakers provide company and information when needed and allow you to remain as private as you desire while enjoying this amazing property in nature. This is the perfect place to reflect on your life, forget about your daily cares and enjoy the natural beauty this earth has to offer. Should you find yourself in need of other distractions, Acadia National park is within easy reach, both MDI & the Schoodic peninsula. Many great small harbor towns surround this beautiful property.  ~ John S.

July 18, 2014~ Magical– Absolutely amazing!

We have stayed at Light Heart Retreat several times, and keep going back. Swimming and canoeing in the quarry, hiking through the woods, discovering abundant wildlife, secret stones and becoming one with nature. This place is truly magical. Our whole family yearns to return every year. Joanna and David are gracious hosts and always make us feel welcome. Close to Acadia, Schoodic Point and Bar Harbor. Lots to do, lots of quiet and reconnection . Cress B. & Family

 

February 14, 2014~  Amazing Views

Our stay at the Huckleberry Hideaway was nothing short of magical. The Huckleberry is ensconced in nature’s beauty- surrounded by towering trees, and neighbored by the granite sculptures that evoke an introspective process and reflection during your stay. The fresh air demands to be gulped in deep breaths, which are often stolen by the incredible views of the valley below, or clearings in the snow-covered woods. The house itself is perfectly cozy, with all of the modern amenities one could ask for– and impeccably clean. The hot tub under the stars is the coup de grace–if you can’t find relaxation there, you’re beyond hope. There are also plenty of well-marked trails to hike and quarries to traverse (on snowshoes). We had the pleasure of staying during a significant snow storm–didn’t lose power, but were well prepared if that had occurred thanks to our hosts. Joanna and David are the quintessential gracious hosts–attentive without ever being intrusive. We will definitely be back. ~ Ryan S., MA

May 30, 2012~ To Relax and to Heal

This has been a wonderful week to relax and heal. You have created a beautiful retreat full of light and Happiness. Thanks so much for your thoughtfulness and attention to detail. Blessings. ~ Alice, TX

May 11, 2012~ Special Place to Get Away from it All

We loved our stay in the Huckleberry Hideaway and we are sure we will be back. We never got a chance to use the wood stove and are thinking a winter trip to use the hot tub and the wood stove is in order! We really like the cabin. The granite structural column is just magnificent and we enjoyed all the careful planning that went into the design–everything from the specific location of the cabin, nestled against the granite bank, to the colors of the tiles and linens. And it smells wonderful! We love the streaming sun in the afternoons over Taunton Bay. We also loved the quarry, turned garden, with the playful stones everywhere, the osprey and kingfishers hunting and the huge warm slabs of granite stretching into water full of fish and frogs. The subtle balance games of some of the stone arrangements are really wonderful! After a couple of hard years, this was a great and special place for a get-away-from-it-all vacation. This was just the recipe for the two of us to reconnect. Thank you David and Joanna for making this lovely, tranquil garden retreat. Kristen, CT

 

Mar 18, 2012~ 8th Visit with their Huckleberry Friend

It seems we are the Huckleberry’s most faithful visitors, as this is our 8th time we’ve made the trip from Boston. We love it here, always finding the beauty of Maine restorative. Each visit delights us with new discoveries. This time it was old downtown Ellsworth, where we ate a good meal at Finn’s, an Irish pub and bought some local, Maine-made toys at a nice little children’s shop. Perhaps it is bold to head north in March, but its been such a mild winter. Although we encountered a snow squall on the way up, the weather has been very spring-like and warm, the mud minimal. The hot tub and fire were perfect. As always, we wish we could stay longer. We hope to carry some of the peace with us as we venture back home. Sky & Geoff M., MA

 

Jan 14, 2012 ~ How to Make the Most of a New England Winter
We cannot thank you enough for a spectacular weekend at the wonderful Huckleberry Hideaway. We had high expectations coming into our stay here, and the retreat far surpassed them! We feel so lucky to have found this amazing place. From ample soaks in the hot tub to walks through the winter wonderland of trails and quarries, to snuggling and watching the fire burn…our time here has been perfect. Joanna, the butternut bread was unbelievable! David, we sincerely appreciate you trekking out in the below freezing temps to get the sauna ready for us! We feel amazingly relaxed and restored after our time here. We can’t wait to return! ~ Nate & Rachel, Boston, MA

 

July 9, 2011 ~ Regroup & Center Ourselves

This truly was the perfect place to stay. We both needed peace and quiet. The location couldn’t have been more perfect. The energy was healing and helped to regroup and center ourselves. Thank you Joanna and David for your kindness. Thanks for creating this beautiful, wonderful, peaceful place. It was healing, relaxing, comfortable and welcoming. Floating on the water in the canoe was refreshing. We were greeted by a red fox today. Your banana bread was delicious. Your love and kindness was definitely felt. Thank you again. ~ Louis and Ginny, CT & NY

 

July 13, 2011 ~ Redemption

Todd and I are deeply grateful for our time here. We unwound. A week isn’t enough to do justice the area and spend time soaking, breathing, sorting through. We’ve had a very difficult past year. It’s been quite overwhelming…One day at a time works, but at some point one has to recognize the patterns of loss, grief and redemption. Light Heart Retreat supported this process as we had time and space to talk, laugh, cry and make plans…We hope that everyone after us enjoy this place as much as we did. Many, many thoughtful touches and our needs were anticipated in advance–very nicely done!
With gratitude. ~ Elizabeth & Todd, NY

 

July 23, 2011 ~ After a Hike…Read & Nap

We’ve had a wonderful week here! Swimming in the quarry, reading on the deck, cooking sea food dinners and just relaxing. What a comfortable, beautiful place you guys have created. We will certainly spread the word at home. Highlights were kayaking at sunset from Hancock point, biking around Schoodic, hiking the Precipice trail, cooking at eating lobsters we bought locally, and hiking Dorr and Cadillac mountains…I loved the sweet window seat as a breezy place to read and nap… Many thanks to Joanna and David for their hospitality! ~ Lynn, Steve & Hanna, NC

 

July 31, 2011 ~ Draw Strength & Quiet from Nature

We came to Maine this week to have a quiet week away from the true hustle/bustle of our daily lives in the city after dropping our youngest son off at a sleep away camp. We had struggled with what kind of vacation to take. Should we stay close and visit the Cape or make the drive north to a more remote place? Light Heart Retreat and the Huckleberry cottage have provided a very quiet and thoughtful week for us. We’ve read lots, cooked every meal (a treat for busy working parents), biked around Schoodic Point and Hancock Point. We hiked in Acadia and most thrillingly at the Black Mountain Loop trail in East Sullivan. We only saw two other hikers and we were rewarded with a view more spectacular than Cadillac–without a crowd. When we got to the bottom we swam in Donell’s Pond. Best Finds: Sullivan Smoked Fish Market and Barter Family Gallery. The hot tub has been a lovely treat that we enjoyed daily. I know that when we return to our daily busy lives we’ll draw strength from the quiet and nature we soaked in while here. Many thanks. ~ Susan & David, MA

 

Aug 22, 2010 ~ A Wonderful Week in Maine

We have just returned from a glorious week at the Huckleberry Hideaway at the Lightheart Retreat in Sullivan, Maine. The Huckleberry Hideaway is one of three properties available to rent at the 60 acre retreat. Each is set in its own garden away from its neighbors, so the house was very private and peaceful. There are two swimming lakes on the property each with canoes that guests may use, and a sauna. Acadia National Park is a short drive away, as is the less visited Schoodic Point and there are numerous excellent restaurants close by – a special mention should go to the Crocker House Inn where we had a memorable dinner. Our hosts, Joanna and David were warm and friendly and provided lots of local information about restaurants etc that added to our week’s enjoyment. The brief orientation session at the start of our stay was helpful and ensured that we knew how to use the sauna, hot tub, canoe etc right from the start. The property listing was accurate but failed to convey the very special nature of the building and its location. Clearly a lot of thought has gone into the design and layout of the house and as a result it is full of light and captures the most gorgeous views – our favorite being the setting of the sun over Taunton Bay. The kitchen was very well equipped and spotlessly clean. The beds were wonderfully comfortable and the showers were hot, with great pressure. But it was the little extra touches such as the vase of wild flowers and the home-made bread that awaited our arrival, or the hand-made soaps that placed this rental in a class of its own. We would strongly recommend this rental to anyone looking for a thoroughly relaxing vacation in a wonderfully comfortable house, set in a beautiful, peaceful location. ~ Sarah

Jun 5, 2010 ~ Berries & Chanterelle

Has been so nice to be back here enjoying the water, the woods. Have had a fun time trying out all the small trails in the woods, getting lost and finding the right connections, refinding places from my last stay. Lots of berries, the strawberries are ripe, the blueberries soon and the chanterelle mushrooms were so nice and more than I have ever seen, light the forest up with gold. Thank you for a great stay. ~ Elizabeth, Norway

Dec 25, 2009 ~ Eva’s Christmas “Present”
Today we are leaving your gorgeous cabin and heading back towards our home in New Jersey where the pace is fast and continuous! When I’m here I find it a relief not to have T.V., computers, cell phone constantly buzzing, ringing and growling all around me. I’ve always known that I belong surrounded by nature rather, than be in the city. The atmosphere created here by Mother Nature and both of your artistic touches is breathtaking. It instills a constant knowing that… yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, but today is a gift–That is why it is called the Present. Thank you.  ~ Eva Ryan, NJ  Note from Joanna: Eva received a proposal and an engagement ring during this stay:)

Dec 22, 2009 ~ Adam & Eva in Paradise

Eva and I just arrived to celebrate our engagement. It is our second time to LHR, our first time at the Huckleberry. We have now discovered that Maine is breathtaking no matter the season. The grounds are snow-covered with a a fresh set of deer prints along the edge of the yard. Anyway, in an effort to keep from telling you what you already know of this place (or what you will soon discover), I will tell you a little secret. I literally just ate off the floor. This is not a recurring habit of mine, but the banana bread I dropped was just so good. Not to mention that the Huckleberry is absolutely immaculate (as expected). Thank you for your kindness and hospitality! Sincerely~ Adam S.  Note from Joanna: This is one of my favorite reviews and certainly one of my favorite compliments.

 

Jul 23, 2009 ~ Best Two Weeks of our Lives

Darla and I had one of the best two weeks of our lives. Our heart and bodies are lighter and we’re very grateful for all the little thoughtful gestures that our hosts made to add to our enjoyment and tranquility. We will take this unique place back with us. Blessings to Joanna and David and all the guests who find their way here. ~ Mark & Darla Coffey, PA

 

Jul 6, 2009 ~ Closer to God

Thank you for having us stay in this precious place. You are wonderful to share this, your home, with others. Being able to be so intimate with Nature especially made me feel close to God. The kids loved the fishing and canoeing. We’ll remember this place and time forever…the peace and the fun we had as a family. ~ Maria and family, RI and Brazil

 

Nov 25, 2008 ~ So good, I almost hate for others to find it!

My husband and I have been going to Light Heart for two years now, and it is the only place we return to consistently to relax and unwind. We have rented cabins and cottages from the Rocky Mountains to the Smokey Mountains, and could not be more impressed with this jewel in Maine. There is something for everyone–cozy evenings by the fire; hot tubbing at sunset; and a complete kitchen (with all the tools) should you choose to cook. It is clean, comfortable, and private. My husband has asthma and all the associated allergies, and there have been no problems staying here. The bedding is so comfortable I checked on the type of pillows so I could buy them for home. Joanna and David are always friendly, approachable, and full of great recommendations for eating and shopping. We always take a side trip to nearby Acadia for the carriage trails and Bar Harbor for the restaurants. After a long hike, there is nothing better than a soak in the hot tub. Just a small example of the attention to detail: there are plastic wine glasses (along with the regular ones) to allow you to sip outside. Joanna always leaves a yummy baked treat to greet you on arrival. A fire is always ready to light upon your arrival. The drive from Boston is fun. A stop in Freeport is a great way to break up the trip. We could not recommend this place more highly. ~ Sky & Geoff, MA

 

Aug 16, 2008 ~ Peace,Healing, Inspiration, Hope…

We are nearing the end of our second August visit to the Light Heart Retreat, or more specifically, to the Huckleberry Hideaway. We have come to look at this time as our New Year’s, a time in which we rebuild and fortify ourselves for the year ahead. The Light Heart Retreat centers us, and brings us not only peace, but answers. The opportunity to be immersed in nature in such a remarkable jewel of a place, so consciously maintained and shared by its stewards is a rare and wonderful thing–a gift, truly. I am extremely grateful for the thoughtful presentation of this place and all of its environs, but I am even more grateful for the compassion the LHR’s owners show for our fragile world. There’s a lot to appreciate about this place as a rental–its cleanliness, warmth, and comfort, but there’s also a lot we can learn here, provided we arrive with eyes open. And if we don’t, we surely leave with them as such. What a Wonderful World! Peace, ~Lauren and David, NYC

 

Jul 26, 2008 ~  Eagle & Porcupine
What a wonderful stay! A terrific getaway in the woods…complete with eagles and porcupine. The Huckleberry Hideaway couldn’t have been more comfortable and cozy–you’ve thought of everything. Thanks for sharing the bounty of your garden and this lovely piece of paradise! ~ Rob & Deb, M.A.

 

Jun 7, 2008 ~ City Slickers like the Blueberry Bread

We stayed at the Huckleberry Hideaway at the Light Heart Retreat for a quiet weekend away. After a 7 hour drive, the house was a more than welcome site. The pictures really do not do it justice! Everything is brand new, and they’ve really thought of every little detail you could need during your stay. The cottage and the property offer a lot of privacy, and there is no place else you can get a hot tub for your own private use at this rate! Really a great experience that we’ve recommended to friends and family!We were blown away when we first walked in. The house didn’t cease to impress throughout our stay. The personal touches (blueberry bread) were very welcoming. Everything was straight forward and easy for us to use (for us city slickers). The hot tub and wood stove were added perks that you cannot find anywhere else at this rate. The pictures do not do this place justice. ~ Jenny & John H., CT

 

May 31, 2008 ~ Comfy-Cozy with Stars Overhead
Our first time here and definitely not our last–Peaceful and quiet–the only sound was the wind in the trees–woke up to bird song and chimes. Beds are sooo comfy-cozy and there’s nothing like looking up and seeing the stars above your head! So many thoughtful touches are here– and we loved the one in the bathroom (go look for it!). Came here to find my center and discovered that I was already there–just needed to believe in myself. This property is pure energy and it healed both of us. Spend some time in the mini Stonehenge, found great peace there too. We enjoyed hot tubbing, a great library, yummy treats (courtesy of Joanna) and the wild scenery Thanks so much and see you soon. Bob

 

Sep 26, 2007 ~ Sunset Hikes
After a magical weekend of being held by our entire community at our wedding, we drove 7 hours to find the cabin that would us in that same space all week. Morning hot tubs followed by naps in the September sun, some homemade zucchini bread and sunset hikes. We were so relaxed, I don’t think we ever made it out before 4 PM. Peregrine falcons, bald eagles and ravens shared this piece of land with us. Thank you for creating this restful place–a perfect place to just be and just be together. ~ Jen & Seth K.

 

Aug 25, 2007 ~ True Paradise
We have been here for a week and Huckleberry has been a true paradise. What a beautiful place you have created for rest, relaxation and recharging. Light Heart Retreat is so peaceful and welcoming. We barely left during our week’s stay. The sunset view from Huckleberry is breathtaking. Swimming in the quarry, the sauna, the hot tub–all perfect. Thanks your for the love and care you clearly put into every detail of this magical place. We are forever grateful and will definitely be back again! ~ Jen N. & John N., NYC

 

Aug 17, 2007~ Flatlanders Come to Maine
Huckleberry Hideaway was a real treat! We truly enjoyed Maine in all its glory! It was nice to explore the shops of Bar Harbor, take in the beautiful sea and indulge in tasty lobster and then return to this quaint cottage for a peaceful, restful night. ~ Bud & Mary and Mike & Heidi, UT

 

Jul 31, 2007  ~ Just Doing Time the Huckleberry Way
My Dear Friends, Words seem to puny to describe the sweetness of your wonderful little Huckleberry Hideaway. Josh and I enjoyed every part of our too-brief stay here, especially the company of our hosts. All love and every blessings to you and this place.

 

July 22, 2007 ~ First Guests at the Huckleberry Honeymoon Hideaway!

We feel extremely lucky to have been the first guests in this lovely place. this trip was our honeymoon and our stay was, in a word, magical–beautiful views and sunsets, swims in the quarry, walks in the woods, visits from a friendly porcupine, dips in the hot tub! Thank you so much, Joanna & David for the love and care you put into every detail of the wonderful Huckleberry Hideaway. ~Joanna & Joel Lee, NYC