Small Wonders

This is a repost from 2017~

David and I have been away at the American Society of Dowsers Convention in Lyndonville, Vermont. We brought back some good information that we can put to work in our gardening and in the daily clearing work we do here for ourselves and others. The trade off was the many hours we spent in the car coming and going, two days spent indoors sitting, listening to lectures, and three nights spent in hotel rooms where quiet was non-existent except for between 3 AM and 4 AM. Dorothy said it best in The Wizard of Oz. There’s no place like home. This especially true when your home happens to be Light Heart Retreat.

This morning I really relished my walk out to Bragdon Quarry. It was overcast and cool and I didn’t mind it a bit. I paused to pick a few wild strawberries. They’re early and larger this year due to the recent rain. I noticed that despite the big down pour we had a week ago that all but one puddle on the Bragdon road had dried up.

My next wonderful little find was a dark feather, downy on one end. It didn’t belong to a crow or a raven–not black enough. It may have come from an osprey, hawk or an eagle. We find eagle feathers often. I tucked it in my sweatshirt pocket.

It would have been hard to miss the pieces of blue egg shell that were on the road, too small to be a robin’s egg. I’ve been hearing baby birds call for a couple of weeks here, as well as a pair of crows and blue jays go at it behind our house. Sometimes it’s not so quiet here!

I spent about twenty minutes at the quarry in contemplation. There’s a screened hut there for that purpose. I prefer to sit on the ledge. There’s a piece of granite that’s just the right angle and height to support me in a comfortable crouch position. Either the bugs are very much less this year, or my telling the insects, “This is a bug free zone and remember I’m the Quarry Queen, your steward,” is working out, quite well.

Climbing tower hill, returning home, I found a beige feather with wide brown stripes on it. Here’s a hint for you. You hear this bird at dusk and at night and it asks, “Who cooks for you? Who cooks for you now?”  This feather I could identify, as it belonged to a Barred Owl. We’ve been hearing them nightly, sometimes right outside our skylight over our bed.

While at the dowser’s convention, I heard stories of trips to Atlantis, lifetimes as dolphins, past lives as Egyptian queens and many other wild and wonderful tales from attendees. I could tell a few tales along those lines myself…What brings me great delight and what I most want to share with others though, is the small wonders of nature that one may encounter here at Light Heart Retreat.

No matter what your age is, there’s a child inside of you who longs to be surprised and delighted by nature’s gifts, large and small. If you’re a parent, one of the greatest gifts you can give your children is an appreciation of and experience in nature. David and I are looking forward to sharing the many small wonders of Light Heart Retreat with you and your family*. Bring your berry bucket or basket. The woods are full of blueberries. I picked three ripe ones on the causeway yesterday.

Blessings for the upcoming Summer Solstice, may it bring you plenty of sunshine, berries and cool breezes!

Joanna

*Since the removal of the Quarry House in 2014, Light Heart Retreat is primarily for adults. I do make some exceptions based upon ages, number of children and if it’s possible to accommodate your small family in one of the two cottages.